IPL 2022: CSK To Retain MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja; Delhi Capitals Set to Release Shreyas Iyer-Report

Chennai Super Kings are all set to retain skipper MS Dhoni, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Ravindra Jadeja, while Delhi Capitals will keep Rishabh Pant as captain, along with him Anrich Nortje and Axar Patel will also keep their places. This means both CSK and Delhi Capitals will let go of their middle-order mainstays. While Suresh Raina will be released from Chennai, Delhi will let go of Shreyas Iyer, according to a report in Indian Express.

Also Read | IPL 2022 Likely to Begin on April 2 in Chennai: Report

It has been learnt that the reason Iyer was let go as he wanted to lead the side which wouldn’t be possible with Pant who has got some solid backing from the owners. Meanwhile coming back to Chennai, Raina was never the top choice as his form has dropped and he is no longer in his prime, The Indian Express reported. The paper also confirmed that CSK are in negotiations with England’s Moeen Ali as his spin can come in handy in India where IPL 2022 will be played. In case he declines, Sam Curran will be retained.

Also Read | TVS Eurogrip is the Principal Sponsor for Chennai Super Kings; Deal Value Pegged at Over Rs 100 Cr

Meanwhile Mumbai Indians will retain skipper Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah. The negotiations are on with West Indies’ Kieron Pollard. They might also retain Ishan Kishan who could be a good long term investment. They want to release Surya Kumar Yadav and then buy him back from the auction pool, the paper said. KL Rahul in all likelihood will join the Sanjiv Goenka’s Lucknow franchise. “India opener KL Rahul is likely to lead Goenka’s new Lucknow team. It is learnt Rahul has parted ways with Punjab Kings and has accepted Goenka’s offer. It is also learnt that Yadav was approached by the new franchise but the batsman hasn’t responded yet,” the report said further.

Similarly, Kolkata Knight Riders plan to retain Andre Russell and Sunil Narine. They would also like to have Varun Chakrawarthy on board. Every franchise can retain upto four players. They will have to provide the final list to the BCCI by November 30 after which the mega auction will take place.

Players retained:

Chennai Super Kings: Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Moeen Ali/Sam Curran

Delhi Capitals: Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw, Axar Patel, Anrich Nortje

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Kieron Pollard (talks on), Ishan Kishan (likely)

Kolkata Knight Riders: Sunil Narine, Andre Russell

Get all the IPL news and Cricket Score here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *