India vs New Zealand: KL Rahul Ruled Out of Test Series Due to Injury, BCCI Names Replacement

Team India suffered a massive blow ahead of the first Test against New Zealand, that begins on November 25 in Kanpur. Opening batsman KL Rahul has been rued out of the 2-match Test series opener due to an injury, stated BCCI on Tuesday. The senior selection committee has named batter Suryakumar Yadav as Rahul’s replacement.

“Rahul has sustained a muscle strain on his left thigh and has been ruled out of the upcoming 2-match Paytm Test series against New Zealand,” the BCCI statement read.

“He will now undergo rehabilitation at NCA in preparation for the series against South Africa scheduled next month,” it added.

ALSO READ | Virat Kohli Always Insisted That Fielding is Non-Negotiable: R Sridhar

India’s Test squad: Ajinkya Rahane (Captain), Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), KS Bharat (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Md. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna.

Rahul, the newly-appointed vice-captain in T20Is, has been in a rich vein of form lately. He scored three consecutive half-centuries in the T20 World Cup 2021 in the UAE before the end of India’s campaign, and carried the momentum back home.

Also Read | Cheteshwar Pujara Credits ‘Fearless Approach’ For Bringing The Joy Back in Batting

In the second T20I against New Zealand in Ranchi, Rahul played a match-winning knock of 65 runs off 49 balls as the Men in Blue defeated the visitors by 5 wickets to take an unassailable 2-0 lead. He was rested for the third and final match of the series in Kolkata, and was replaced by Ishan Kishan. India won the game by 73 runs to whitewash the Kiwis 3-0.

(With PTI Inputs)

Get all the IPL news and Cricket Score here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *