BCCI Announce Squads For Sri Lanka Series: Rohit to Lead in Tests; Rahane, Pujara Dropped

Rohit Sharma, who is leading India in the limited-overs format, has been named the captain for the upcoming Test series against Sri Lanka. In a major move, the board has decided to drop the duo of Ajinkya Rahane and Cheteshwar Pujara for the red-ball series.

At the same time, KL Rahul, Washington Sundar have been ruled out of the entire series while all-rounder Shardul Thakur has been rested, informed chief selector Chetan Sharma.

Sri Lanka will be touring India for a bilateral series comprised of three T20Is followed by 2 Tests. The T20I series will begin rom February 24 in Lucknow. The second and final games of the 3-match series will be played in Dharamsala on February 26 and 27 respectively.

Following the conclusion of the T20Is, the Test series will begin from March 8 in Mohali. The second and final Test, which is going to be a day-night affair, will be held in Bengaluru from March 12.

India squad for Tests:

Rohit Sharma (C), Mayank Agarwal, Priyank Panchal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Vihari, Shubman Gill, Rishabh Pant (WK), KS Bharath (WK), Ashwin (subject to fitness), Jadeja, Jayant Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Mohammad Shami, Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Saurav Kumar

India squad for T20Is:

Rohit Sharma (C), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, SKYadav, Shreyas, Venkatesh Iyer, Hooda, Bumrah (VC), Bhuvi, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Siraj, Sanju Samson, Ravindra Jadeja, YChahal, Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Avesh Khan.

(More to Follow…)

Special: Get the Live-Updating IPL 2022 Auction Tally | IPL Mega Auction Live Updates and Cricket Score here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.